Reflection and Rest

by docinsano

Gar seemed to be alright for the time being, but the question remaining was for how long? Gar sat there rubbing his belly, drinking the last of his booze. I couldn’t believe he went so far as to eat that poor kitten, even if it was the most fucked-up looking creature I had ever seen.

I couldn’t help but review in my mind constantly the events that ran up to this point. The parking garage. I had just gotten home from work, ready to settle in and relax. There had to be more people than just me in that garage at the time– how could I be the only one? The other thing I wondered was what in the world caused this explosion? Was it a nuke? I couldn’t tell, the charred bodies I assumed were vaporized by a nuke, but there still were other bodies, untouched by fire. They were however, grayed and rotten looking. Assuming it was a nuke, I bypassed many an opportunity to stock up on food, assuming the food would be ridden with radiation and unfit for eating.

I sat there next to Gar, dizzy from hunger, wondering what to do next.

“Hey Gar, d’you know anything about nukes?” I asked.

“Yer askin’ the wrong fellow, all I know is they blow shit up.”

“Hmmmmm..”

I thought about it a bit. I knew nothing about how nukes affected the environment, all I knew was about radioactive fallout. If it was a nuke, wouldn’t we already have been affected by radiation? I kept this in mind, but decided to keep the radiation lie intact. Gar was too stupid to get it anyways. When we walked past a crumbled supermarket I’d tell him not to eat any of the food due to radiation– well except for twinkies, which he heartily stocked up and ate earlier in our journey.

The sun was falling from its apex. Night would fall soon. We had to keep moving to cover some more ground before sundown.

“Well, we better get a move on,” I said, “sun’ll be down in a few hours. Lets go.”

Gar nodded and we both picked up and headed back on our journey. I figured by the look of the rubble that we’d reached the uptown shopping district which meant groceries were nearby. I stumbled along, feeling weak from hunger as Gar led the way through the crumbled remains, fully charged after devouring his meal.

After a good mile hike across cracked streets and loads of debris, we fell upon the remains of Durden’s grocery. It was now a shadow of what it once was; most of the goods were destroyed anyhow, but I managed to snag a box of fruit snacks.

“What you pickin’ that shit up for?” Gar asked, “don’t that got that irradiation or what-you-call-it in it?”

“Yeah, I’ll take a chance on it,” I replied, figuring since he ate the cat, I’d eat the “radiated” food on the ground.

I scarfed down half the box of snacks and stashed the rest for later. They were the most heavenly tasting food I had in days; chewy, sticky, and delicious– A medley of cherry, grape, lemon and lime that would satisfy me for the time being.

We walked on as the sun headed towards the horizon. It was time to set up camp. Gar collected firewood and set up a fire while I arranged the debris into a makeshift shelter. Gar seemed to be alright, but for how long I knew not. All I knew was that I needed to ditch him before anything weird happened. Tomorrow morning would be the perfect opportunity. Wake up early and leave. Gar was a drag anyhow and at this point his weaknesses overshadowed his strengths. I laid my head on some broken up concrete as Gar got the fire roaring.

Tomorrow would be another day. I was so tired that it felt like I hadn’t slept in days. I probably hadn’t slept in days either– everything turned into one big blur. Gar, food, the explosion, survivors, how much farther until we hit the suburbs– I’d figure it all out after a good night’s rest.